Bokksu.com

×

We will send your message via an email from Bokksu



Recipient's name

Recipient's email

Personal message

200 characters left

When do you want send your message?


X

Gift Box


Ship Next Months's Box

Boxes ship out in the beginning of the following month.

I’M BUYING FOR MYSELF.

ADD TO CART

A Guide to Gluten-Free Japanese Food

A Guide to Gluten-Free Japanese Food

Having a gluten intolerance narrows down the foods you can eat. It can also make it intimidating to try new cuisine, especially from different cultures. Luckily, there’s gluten-free Japanese food that you can enjoy without worry.

These items range from side dishes to street foods, noodles, and even gluten-free Japanese snacks. Below, we dig into which gluten-free options you can choose on a trip to Japan or in a Japanese market.

What Is Gluten-Free Food?

Before exploring what Japanese dishes are gluten-free, it's important to understand what a gluten allergy is. For some people, consuming gluten makes them sick. This upset can present as bloating, gas, or even tiredness after eating gluten foods.

Gluten is a protein in many foods, from specific grains to sauces, food, drinks, some medications, vitamins, etc. To prevent a gluten allergy, consuming gluten-free foods is ideal as there's no cure for a gluten allergy.   

Celiac disease is not to be confused with a gluten allergy. It’s much more severe and is a chronic autoimmune disease that can cause more severe symptoms like weight loss. In this case, it’s also necessary to follow a gluten-free diet.

Is Any Japanese Food Gluten-Free?

Absolutely! While finding gluten-free food in Japan may be more challenging, it's far from impossible. Continue reading to explore the gluten-free Japanese foods you can try to help you with gluten-free dining.

Gluten-Free Japanese Food & Culture

Overall, Japanese food is not typically gluten-free. Soy sauce contains wheat, a common allergen for those with gluten allergies and sensitivities. Since soy sauce is a common ingredient in many dishes, from sushi rice to soups and noodle dishes, it's best to avoid sauce-laden dishes. However, if you keep your eyes peeled and know what to avoid, you'll find plenty of gluten-free options.

Is Japan Good For Celiacs?

Yes and no. As mentioned above, if you know the correct items to eat that are typically gluten-free, you’ll be okay in Japan. However, it’s much less common for gluten allergies and celiacs to occur in Japan, so there’s not as much information available for gluten-free individuals.

Traditional Gluten-Free Japanese Cuisine

Keep your eyes peeled for these Japanese dishes/foods, as they’re usually naturally gluten-free! Generally, these are safe to eat though it’s important to avoid sauces as they likely have gluten.

  • Rice
  • Mochi (including sweet versions)
  • Yakitori, aka chicken skewers (without soy sauce)
  • Onigiri, a rice ball with seaweed and filling
  • Tofu
  • Eggs
  • Gluten-free sushi (without any sauce)
  • Buckwheat soba noodles
  • Gluten-free rice vinegar (like Kikkoman)

Useful Japanese Phrases For Gluten Allergies

Look for these phrases to know which foods are okay to eat in Japan!

  • 小麦, komugi (wheat)
  • 全粒小麦,zen-ryu komugi (whole wheat)
  • , mugi or 大麦,oo-mugi (barley)
  • 醤油, shoyu (soy sauce)
  • ライ麦, raimugi (rye)
  • 麦芽,bakuga (malt)
  • セイタン (seitan)
  • 麩 (fu), aka wheat gluten (similar to seitan)

Avoid the above foods, and you’re on your way to enjoying a gluten-free experience in Japan.

Things To Avoid

Now that you know some foods you can enjoy, it’s time to check out foods to avoid while in Japan.

  • Yakitori (with sauce)
  • Okonomiyaki
  • Soy sauce
  • Unagi, aka eel
  • Miso soup
  • Tempura
  • Takoyaki, octopus balls that are popular street food in Japan

Are Typical Japanese Foods Gluten-Free?

Unfortunately, a lot of noodles in Japan are not gluten-free as they're made from wheat flour. Udon noodles and ramen noodles are on the list of things to avoid, for example. The exception is that these noodles can be made with buckwheat, which is gluten-free. If you're unsure what their ingredients are, skip these noodles and opt for a rice dish.

Eel sauce is also not gluten-free; it's a soy sauce-based sauce. It has wheat as a primary ingredient and, therefore, gluten.

How To Try Gluten-Free Japanese Snacks

Now that you’ve heard about several delicious gluten-free dishes that you can enjoy, you're likely wondering where you can get some delicious Japanese snacks! Here are some gluten-free Japanese snacks from Bokksu Boutique that you can try at home that will keep you satisfied and help prevent any negative gluten-related symptoms.

  • Mochi – there are crispy, chewy, sweet, and savory mochi options that you’ll love snacking on! These range from cheesy bites to fruity delights.
  • Gluten-Free Japanese Sweets – handmade candy, matcha-dusted cakes, and fruity gummies are a few options you can enjoy at home.
  • Japanese Senbei – senbei is a traditional snack in Japan that consists of rice cakes or crackers. These crunchy snacks come in various savory flavors like edamame and black sesame.

Check out Bokksu Boutique for additional gluten-free Japanese food options! Filter by selecting the gluten-free option, and you'll easily find foods that fit your dietary needs. Bokksu Boutique also offers teas, kitchen goods, and more.

Recent Posts

October 05, 2022
What Is Miso?

What Is Miso? Ah, miso! This simple looking thick paste is an essential Japanese staple, and is used across the world in countless recipes. Miso packs a delicious punch of...

Read More